logo-bigThe IUOE is a progressive, diversified trade union which primarily represents Operating Engineers who work as heavy equipment operators, mechanics, and surveyors in the construction industry, and Stationary Engineers, who work in operations and maintenance in building and industrial complexes, and in the service industries. The IUOE also represents health industry workers as well as significant numbers of public employees engaged in a wide variety of occupations.

Founded in 1896, the IUOE today has 400,000 members in some 200 Local Unions throughout the United States and Canada. The IUOE is the 12th largest union in the AFL-CIO. Further, nearly 100 apprenticeship and training programs, jointly managed by the IUOE and employers, work hard to ensure that IUOE members are highly trained, highly skilled craftworkers.

The IUOE offers employment and training opportunities to all regardless of race, sex, creed, color, religion, or national origin. Thus, a diverse membership is welcome – a membership that illustrates the commitment to the labor movement and tireless dedication to the industries the IUOE represents.

I.U.O.E. Local 98
Hours of Operation: 7:30am – 4:00pm
413-525-4291 ext 2

Board and Staff
Philip Chaffee

Business Manager/President


Keith Hancock

Vice President, Contract Representative/Organizer


Heather Tetreault

Office Manager

Patricia O’Connor


David Kazimierczak

Recording Secretary, Business Agent, Berkshire County and Southwest Vermont


William “Doug” Fay

Treasurer, Business Agent Springfield, MA


Leonard Del Gatto

Business Agent, NH/VT


Executive Board

Line Officers

Business Manager / President: Philip Chaffee
Vice President:  Keith Hancock
Recording Secretary: David Kazimierczak
Treasurer:  William “Doug” Fay
Financial Secretary: Michael Jones Jr.

Members of the Executive Board

Leonard Del Gatto
Nicholas Girolamo
Nate Senser
Christopher Bushika
Christopher Kozlik

Officers of Local 98
Business Manager
Philip Chaffee

Philip Chaffee

Vice President
Keith Hancock

Recording – Corresponding Secretary
David Kazimierczak

Financial Secretary
Michael Jones Jr.

William “Doug” Fay

James Morrison
Leonard Del Gatto
William “Doug” Fay


Nicholas Girolamo

James Morrison

Mike Jones Jr.
Keith Hancock
David Kazimierczak